Skip to main content
If you’re ready to leave Descript, you can permanently delete your account at any time. Deleting your Descript account is irreversible.

What to know before deleting your account

  • This action is permanent. You’ll lose access to all your projects, Drives, transcripts, and account history.
  • Refund notice: Deleting your account does not cancel your subscription or trigger a refund. If you’re eligible, according to our refund policy, contact support before deleting.
  • If you return to Descript later, you’ll need to sign up as a new user.
Deleting your account is permanentOnce deleted, your personal data, projects, and email address will be removed from Descript, and your account will no longer be accessible. If you return to Descript in the future, you’ll need to sign up as a new user.

What gets deleted

Deleting your account will permanently remove the following from Descript’s systems:
Not ready to delete?

Delete your account

Follow these steps in the web or desktop app to permanently delete your Descript account:
  1. Sign in to Descript on the web or desktop app. From the Drive view, click your profile picture in the top-right corner.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Select the Profile tab.
  4. Click Delete account. A confirmation window will appear.
  5. In the confirmation window, click Delete Account to complete deletion. You’ll be signed out and your account will be removed.\ Account deletion confirmation modal