Use workspaces to organize your team’s projects inside your Descript drive.
Workspaces organize projects inside a drive. Every drive has two default workspaces: the general drive workspace and your personal workspace (private to you only). On Enterprise plans, drive admins can create custom workspaces to control access across teams.Custom workspaces are only available on Enterprise plans. If your team needs custom workspaces, contact our Sales team!
The general drive workspace is the default shared space on every drive. All drive members can access it when they join. Projects in the general workspace are visible to everyone on the drive. It cannot be deleted.
Every drive member has a personal private workspace — a private space for projects that aren’t shared with the rest of the drive members. New projects save to your personal workspace by default. Like the general workspace, your personal workspace cannot be deleted.Personal workspaces:
Belong to you only
Don’t support custom folders (includes a read-only Recordings folder)
Cannot be deleted
Aren’t visible to drive admins
To share a project from your personal workspace, move it into another workspace, or share it directly with specific people — they’ll be able to access the project even though it stays in your personal workspace. Learn about project access and sharing.
Custom workspaces are only available on Enterprise plans. Drive admins create dedicated spaces for teams, clients, or projects, with control over who can see and join them.
Click the ⋯ menu next to a custom workspace’s name to access workspace actions: Rename workspace, Change workspace icon, Private workspace toggle, New folder, Copy workspace link, View members, Add members, Leave workspace, and Delete workspace. Renaming, changing visibility, changing the icon, adding members, and deleting require drive admin permissions.
Your drive role determines what you can do in every workspace you belong to — it is not possible to be an editor on the drive but a viewer in a workspace, or vice versa. When you join a workspace, the system applies your existing drive role (admin, editor, or viewer) automatically.
Drive admins → project admin access in all shared workspaces
Drive editors → can edit projects in workspaces they belong to
Drive viewers → can view and comment on projects in workspaces they belong to
Drive admins manage workspace membership. Editors and viewers can’t create workspaces or add members to private workspaces. Drive admins can see all projects in shared workspaces, but not projects in members’ personal workspaces.Learn more about drive membership roles.
Drive editors and owners can move projects between workspaces they belong to, or into their personal workspace.
Click the ⋯ menu next to the project you want to move.
Select Move to…
Choose a destination workspace.
Confirm the move.
Moving a project changes who has access to itAccess updates to match the destination workspace’s members. You’ll see a confirmation before the move completes.
Published share links are not affected by workspace membership — anyone with a published link can view the published content, even if they aren’t a member of the workspace the project belongs to.Learn more about project access and collaborator roles.