Downgrading or canceling a subscription

When you downgrade or cancel a subscription, you will lose access to the features included in the current plan. However, you will still have access to the projects on your account.

Keep in mind that you can downgrade or cancel at any time, but the changes won't take effect until the end of the current billing cycle. To prevent any unexpected charges, cancel or downgrade the subscription before it renews.

Downgrade a subscription

To switch from a Pro plan to a Creator plan:

  1. Log in to the correct account from https://web.descript.com/ or the app.
  2. Click the Drive selector in your Drive view. If you have access to multiple drives, switch to the correct drive.
  3. Open Settings icon Settings.
  4. Select Edit on the Subscription line.
  5. Click the Your plan dropdown and choose the Creator plan.
  6. Click the Downgrade button in the bottom right corner of the window.

Steps to Downgrade a subscription.

Cancel a subscription

  1. Log in to the correct account from https://web.descript.com/ or the app.
  2. Click the Drive selector in your Drive view. If you have access to multiple drives, switch to the correct drive.
  3. Open Settings icon Settings.
  4. Select Edit on the Subscription line.
  5. Select the Your plan dropdown and choose the Free plan.
  6. Click the Cancel subscription button in the bottom right corner of the window.

Steps to Cancel a subscription.

Resume a subscription scheduled to downgrade or cancel

If you changed your mind about canceling or downgrading, go to the subscription edit menu and click on "you may resume Descript" link in the right info panel.

subscription edit panel with arrow pointing to the resume subscription link

How do I cancel an account for someone who no longer works at my company?

Descript cannot make account changes originating from any source other than the email address of the account in question. Please work with your IT team administrator to provide access to or re-instate the account email address. You can then cancel the subscription following the above steps.

Was this page helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful