Delete an account is permanent
Deleting your account is non-reversible. Once this action is complete, your personal data and email address will no longer exist in Descript, and the account is not recoverable. You will need to sign-up as a new user.
Before you delete your account
All of the following data will be permanently removed from our systems including, but not limited to:
- Projects, compositions and all associated media (including other drive members' projects) – make sure to:
- Every drive owned by your account’s email address
- Transcriptions (including automatic, white glove, and imported) – please be sure to export any transcriptions that you wish to keep
- Invoices and receipts – download your receipts for your records
- Your email address from our marketing emails
- Any active subscriptions – these will immediately be canceled, and any unused time will be forfeited
Alternatives to deleting your account
If you are only trying to cancel or downgrade your Descript subscription to a Free or other plan, please see our article on canceling or downgrading your Descript subscription.
If you are trying to remove one of your drives from your account, but still want to remain a Descript customer, please reach out to Descript Support for assistance.
Deleting your account
- Visit https://web.descript.com/account or open the app and view the Profile tab under your Account setting.
- If you have team members on your drive, remove other drive members before continuing.
- Select Delete account; This will open up an alert window.
- Choose Delete Account from the alert window to permanently delete your account. Once complete you will be automatically logged out of Descript and your account will be removed from our system.