Project access

Descript makes it easy to manage how collaborators access a project. Invited collaborators can perform many functions that Drive members can on a given project, like correcting a transcript, editing content, and exporting a finished composition.

Inviting collaborators to a project

You can invite someone to edit or comment on your project from the Drive view or main editor:

  • From the Drive view, click the three vertical dots to the right of a project row and select Project access from the list of options.
  • From the main editor, select + Project access in the top right corner.

Screenshots of the Drive view and main editor with showing where project access is located

Once you've opened the project access panel, type your collaborator's email, select the users' project permissions, and then select invite to project.

Screenshot of project access panel with numbered steps for inviting a collaborator

 

The user will receive an email notification that they have been invited to the project. Once you've invited collaborators, you can see who has access by checking the top corner of the project.
Drive Member Limitations

AI actions with limitations can only be used by editors of a Descript drive. To see which actions might be affected, please view our pricing page.


In addition, transcription is a feature only Drive members can use. If you would like your collaborators to be able to add and initiate transcription, please see our inviting drive members and drive membership types articles for details.

Setting permissions for collaborators

You can choose from two access levels when inviting collaborators: editing or commenting only. If you want to change the access level for a collaborator, click on the text to the right of their name and choose the desired setting.

You can set the level of project access for each respective collaborator as you send out your invites, or you can make adjustments after you've sent them.

Setting project access for your drive members

You can set the level of project access you want other drive members to have for individual projects:

  • From the Drive view, click the three vertical dots to the right of a project row and select Project access from the list of options.
  • From the main editor, select + Project access in the top right corner.

Screenshots of the Drive view and main editor with showing where project access is located

Once you've opened the project access panel, set the project access level for the Drive member at the bottom of the panel.

Screenshot of project access panel with red rectangle highlighting the drive member permissions dropdown menu

Removing a collaborator from a project

To remove a collaborator from your project, use the dropdown menu next to their name. This is the same menu where you select Can edit or Can comment. Then, click Remove member.

Screenshot of project access panel with numbered steps for removing project access

Double-check the setting you've chosen for the project link. If it's set to can comment or can view, the collaborator you've removed may still be able to access your project.

Was this page helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful