Publishing Overview

 

Descript's powerful publishing features allow you export a snapshot of your composition online, and provides you a URL that you can share with others. You can even publish your files to one of our publishing partners: Twitter, Buzzsprout, YouTube or Headliner!

 

Getting Started

First, click on the Share button at the top of the application window and then click the Publish tab. 

 

Note: If you only want to publish a selection of your text, make sure to highlight your text prior to clicking the Share button.

The Publish page allows you to choose between publishing an audio file, video file or an audiogram. You can choose to enable comments on your audio/video pages, or select from various types of audiogram templates and display features.

 

Note: Whenever a user comments on your published file, you will be notified by email.

Once you're ready, click Publish and you'll get a link to your new page that you can paste wherever you like.

File-Published.png

 

Note: Depending on the size of your composition/selection, it may take a moment to render the export on the published page.

If you would like to upload your published file to one of our publishing partners Twitter, Buzzsprout or Headliner, click on the image link to sign in and upload the file. If you don't see your partner listed, click the Don't see your publisher? link to send us a note on which partner you would love to see integrated with Descript.

And that's it! You can now view the page, copy the link, or even download a copy to your desktop. If you've enabled comments, your collaborators will be able to make selections of the text and add comments as well.

 

Viewing a list of your published files

To see the list of published Pages, navigate to your project browser (File > Open Project Browser) and click on the Pages tab on the left-hand sidebar. Here you will see your list of Pages and have the option to copy a link to the file, rename, download, open the original project, or delete the file.View_a_list_of_published_files.gif

 

 

Deleting a Page

To delete your Page, click the Pages tab on the left-hand side of the Project Browser, locate your Page and then then click on the ellipsis icon to the right of the page title. Click the Delete button, then select Delete Publish to confirm.

Deleting_a_Published_File.gif

 

Content Length

Creator Plans may publish:

  • Audiograms up to 2 minutes long
  • Video up to 1 hour

Pro plans may publish:

  • Audiograms up to 30 minutes
  • Video up to 3 hours