Looking for help with Descript Classic? Classic Help Center

Publishing a web link

You can publish a standalone web page with a shareable link and an embeddable web player. Click Publish, select the Publish tab, and then choose Web link from the list of options.  

Publishing_a_web_link_V50.png

 

Published page settings

You can adjust the setting of a web link from the publishing panel.

publishing_weblink_advance_settings_V50.png

 

Setting Description
Show transcript Display you composition’s transcript on the published web page
Allow comments Allow commenting on the published web page
Show author Display the project owner’s name on the web page
Custom branding Enable/disable showing the drive’s icon on the published web page
Thumbnail image Use either your current composition frame as the thumbnail, or choose Replace image to choose an image from your computer

 

Publishing a page

Once you're ready, you can click Publish. You can then copy the web page link, and open it in a browser window.

Publish_button_on_panel_V50.gif

Limitations on 4K files

The following types of 4K videos are limited to 1080p resolution (1920x1080) when publishing:

  • Imported 4K videos
  • 4K videos (captured with Descript's Screen Recorder) that have been edited in any way.

4K files that are created with the Screen Recorder and have not been edited or modified will be published in full 4K resolution. We expect to fully support 4K edited files in a future update.

Published page access

If you need to control the privacy and access of your page, you can do this from the publish web page panel in the main editor, or directly from the published web page.

web_link_access_V50.png

 

Content length limitations for video

  • Creator and Free plans may publish videos up to 1 hour
  • Pro plans may publish videos up to 3 hours

Compositions with video exceeding the length limitation will be published as audio only.

Re-publishing a page

If you need re-publish a page, select Publish in the top right corner of the editor. Make any necessary changes to the advanced settings, and click Publish changes. The original URL will be preserved, and the underlying content will be re-rendered.

Re-publishing pages with comments

Re-publishing a page will cause any published comments to be permanently removed. Users wishing to work collaboratively with other users during the editing phase will instead want to invite collaborators to comment directly within the project. More details can be found in our Project access help center article.

Publish_changes_V50.png

Removing a published page

If you need to remove a published page, select Publish in the top right corner of the editor and select Unpublish. Removing a page will cause any published comments on the page to be permanently removed.

Unpublish_page_V52.gif

 

Viewing your page

Once your web page has been published, you may download it, copy the URL, or copy the embed code. If you have enabled show transcript and commenting in the web link’s settings, you can also highlight a section of text to leave a comment or share a range of the page as a link.

 

Page views

If you are the creator of the published web page, you track viewership in the top right corner of the web page.

 

web_link_page_views_V50.png

 

Managing page settings

Once you’ve published your content as a web page, you can manage the page’s settings directly from the web page.

 

Managing_page_settings_V50.png

If you make setting changes from the web page, you do not need to republish your composition for these changes to take effect.

Was this page helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.