Moving projects and folders on a drive

You can move projects and folders in your Drive view. Keep in mind that folders cannot be moved to a drive's Private workspace

Users with different  Drive membership types will have different options available to them when moving projects and folders:

  • Drive owners and Editor members—can move projects and folders both in and out of:
  • Basic members—can move projects and folders both in and out of:
    • Folders on their Drive
    • Drive and private workspaces

How to move a project or file from the Drive view

  1. Right-click on the project, or click  Transport_ellipses.png to the far left of the project's name.
  2. Select Move to... from the menu.
  3. Choose the new destination.
  4. Click Move

Steps to move project from Drive view.

Moving a project from the project editor

If you are working in an open project and need to move it to a new location:

  1. Select the Descript D icon_blue note.png icon in the top left corner of the window.
  2. Choose File > Move…

Steps to move project from open project editor.

How to move multiple projects at once

You can select and move multiple projects in bulk from your Drive and Private workspaces.

  1. Click the checkbox next to a project's name. To select a range of consecutive projects, click the checkbox for the first project in the range, hold Shift, and click the last project's checkbox.
  2. Right-click on any of the selected projects.
  3. Select Move to... from the menu.
  4. Choose the new destination.
  5. Click Move

Steps to move multiple projects from the Drive view.

Considerations for teams

Moving a project to a different drive, workspace, or folder may affect another team member's ability to access that project:

Check out our article on managing drives, teams, and project permissions for more details.

Was this page helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful